Actions with tasks
This article covers actions you can perform on an individual task —from the task itself or from the tasks list. To work with multiple tasks at once, see Work with tasks list . To view all tasks, go to Workflow > Tasks from the left menu bar.
Note
Team members with account access can view and edit tasks for their assigned accounts, change task assignees and statuses, and track time. A firm owner, admins, and employees with the View all accounts access right have access to all firm tasks.View tasks
There are several ways to view your tasks:
- Workflow > Tasks page: see your tasks as well as unassigned ones and those assigned to other team members (only for accounts you have access to). Completed tasks are on a separate tab. See Work with tasks list for search, filter, and sort options.
- Client account: go to Clients > Accounts, open the client’s name, then go to the Workflow tab—pending and completed tasks are displayed separately.
- Client’s Overview page: a client’s tasks are also listed in the Jobs & tasks tab on the account’s Overview page .
- Insights page: once a task is assigned to you, it appears on your Insights page. Here’s more on the tasks widget .
- Calendar view: click the Tasks tab in Workflow > Calendar. Here’s more on calendar views .
- Notifications: when a task is almost due or newly assigned to you, you get a notification in your Inbox+ and email. Click the task name or Go to… to open it. You can change your notification preferences at any time.
To view all tasks assigned to you, go to the Workflow screen and open the Tasks tab. Tap a task to open it, or tap Filters to filter tasks by pipeline and stage, job assignee, account name, or task status.
Update task status
Once a task is done or canceled, click on its status and change it to Completed or Canceled, accordingly. Once the status of the task has been changed, it disappears from the Insights page and moves to the Completed tab of the tasks list.
Note
Completed and canceled tasks can still be edited. Move the task back to the Pending tab by changing its status to Planned, In review, In Progress, On hold, Extended, Waiting for client, Waiting for signatures or Waiting for agency.Tap the priority in the top left or the status in the top right to change either.
Update recurring task status
When marking a recurring task as Completed before the end date, a new task is automatically created with the settings of the previous one duplicating. The number of scheduled repetitions is displayed in the New task section.
Let’s look at an example. We have created a task to be repeated once a week from 27 May to 12 June:
-
The deadline for the first task is 27 May. When you assign the Completed status in the first iteration, a new task will automatically be created.
-
The deadline for the second task is 3 June. When you assign the Completed status in the second iteration, a new task will be automatically created.
-
The deadline for the third task is 10 June. When you assign the Completed status, the task will be considered complete (since this is the last weekly recurrence) and will not appear in the Pending tasks list.
Track time in tasks
Track time spent on tasks directly from the task:
- Open a task and ensure a client is selected correctly, then click the Track time link at the top right and start working on a task. You cannot track time for tasks where the client account is not selected.
A time entry is automatically linked to a task. You can now leave the task page, the timer will be displayed at the top of all TaxDome pages.
-
If needed, add a description, pause or finish the time entry right from the task page, or click the three dots to the right for editing and deleting it.
-
Once finished, you will see the Edit time entry sidebar. Make any changes you need, then click Save.
If you have several time entries added for one task, the total time you’ve spent on them will be displayed inside the task.
Note
Team members with the Manage time entries access right can view, edit and delete all the time entries for the task. Otherwise, they can only see timers they’ve created.Edit tasks
Edit a task to change its status or account, track task’s time , check off subtasks or rewrite the description. Tasks can be edited one at a time or in bulk .
If anybody edits a task assigned to you, you’ll get an email and Inbox+ notification.
There are many ways to edit a task:
-
Click on the task name on the Insights or Calendar pages
-
Click on the linked task from the job card or from the Link Tasks page
-
Select the task name in your Tasks list, then click Edit
-
Change the assignee, start date, due date, priority, tags or status right in the Task list
Note
When you change the account of a task linked to a job , it automatically unlinks.The task screen contains five tabs that allow you to interact with a task in different ways:
- Task details: edit or remove an associated client account, link the task to the job or unlink it, edit task assignees, check the task tags, edit start and due dates, and toggle on Repeat to make the task recurring.
- Description: add or edit the task description.
- Documents: view and upload a document any way that is available in the mobile app . Once uploaded, documents will be linked to the task and accessible on the same tab in the mobile app or in the portal.
- Subtasks: add a checklist consisting of subtasks or view and manage it if you already have subtasks.
- Comments: see Comment on a task .
Bulk-edit tasks
To make changes to several tasks:
-
Select the task names in a Tasks list, then click Edit.
-
Make your changes, then click Save.
When bulk-editing tasks, keep in mind:
- You cannot change template
- You cannot attach or remove files
- You cannot edit subtasks
- You cannot edit, delete or add comments
- The data in all unchanged fields remains the same
- You can change the task assignees, but can’t unassign tasks or change roles
Edit a single task if you need to do any of the above.
Comment on a task
While working, you might come across information you need for a specific task. Jot it down inside the task comments. This way, team members assigned to the task will see it.
To add a comment to a task:
-
Click on the task name or the three dots to its far right, then select Edit.
-
In the Comments section, click Add comment, click on the text field, then type the note.
- Click Save to keep your changes. The comment—along with the date and name of the team member who wrote it—is then saved inside the task. When the comment is no longer needed, click the trash icon to the right of it to delete it.
Open the task and switch to the Comments tab to add and view task comments.
Delete tasks
To remove a task completely:
-
Click the three dots to the far right of the task name, then click Delete.
-
Click Delete in the Delete Confirmation pop-up.
Open the task, tap the three dots at the top right, and select Delete task.